8 Sister Cities of Cagayan de Oro – International and Local Cities

Here are the 8 international and local sister cities of the City of Golden Friendship, Cagayan de Oro.

Sister cities (or twin towns) are a form of legal or social agreement between towns, cities, counties, oblasts, prefectures, provinces, regions, states, and even countries in geographically and politically distinct areas to promote cultural and commercial ties.

The modern concept of town twinning, conceived after the Second World War in 1947, was intended to foster friendship and understanding among different cultures and between former foes as an act of peace and reconciliation and to encourage trade and tourism. By the 2000s, town twinning became increasingly used to form strategic international business links among member cities.

Here are the 8 sister cities of Cagayan de Oro City.

  1. Gwangyang City, South Korea (2012)
  2. Norfolk, Virginia USA (2008)
  3. Harbin City, China (2007)
  4. Tainan City, Taiwan (2005)
  5. Lawndale City, California USA (1986)
  6. Quezon City, Philippines
  7. Surigao City, Philippines
  8. Iligan City, Philippines

Cagayan de Oro, officially the City of Cagayan de Oro or simply referred to as CDO, is a highly urbanized city in Northern Mindanao, Philippines.

Video courtesy of PH RED TV.